1909-2009 - 5 Generations

Logo Lanners-Threinen 1910        Lanners 2009

FrenchEnglishDeutsch

 

 

 


 


Message
  • EU e-Privacy Directive

    This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

PDF Print E-mail

Emigrants

The Vienna Congress, which rescheduled the political map of Europe after the French Revolution and the defeat of Napoleon, curtailed Luxembourg and left a miniscule country with a poor soil, bare of any natural resources until the development of the steel industry in the 1890ies. It is therefore not surprising that a substantial part of the population tried to improve its living condition by leaving its home country. France was a close and easily accessible host area, but it was the emigration towards the United States that took dramatic proportions in the years between 1850 and 1890. All families were touched, and so was the Lanners family.

The table below sums up the emigration status in Spring 2011 as the author could know it. Most of the European family members have apparently been found. This is not so for the United States according to the entries of the name found on the Net and on the social networks like Facebook.

Emigration is not a closed episode, but it continues on a smaller scale in a globalized world with increased mobility. Career opportunities might have replaced sheer economic need as a main motivation factor.

DestinationEmigrantsDescendants
Belgium12781
France32771
Germany5813
Switzerland318
United States383833
Total : 90
6216

Note: Numbers for the United States include 847 descendants of Lanners from Germany who emigrated to America.

Emigration of LANNERS from Luxembourg 1780 to 2009

Lanners emigration over time
Note : Numbers differ from the table above as children of emigrants are included in the graph.

The graph above illustrates the history of the emigration of members of the Lanners family in time and space. It highlights the peak of the emigration during the second half of the 19th century and the preferred destination, the United States of America.

© Claude Lanners 2008 - 2012
Last Updated on Tuesday, 16 August 2011 19:32

1909-2009 - 5 Generations

Logo Lanners-Threinen 1910        Lanners 2009

FrenchEnglishDeutsch

 

 

 


 


Message
  • EU e-Privacy Directive

    This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

PDF Imprimer Envoyer

Émigrants

Dans un pays réduit à la portion congrue après le Congrès de Vienne, au sol pauvre et dépourvu de ressources naturelles jusqu'à l'éclosion de la sidérurgie vers 1890, il n'est pas surprenant qu'une partie importante de la population ait aspiré à une amélioration de sa condition de vie en quittant son pays natal. La France a été une terre d'accueil proche et facile d'accès, mais on sait également que l'émigration aux Etats-Unis d'Amérique a provoqué une véritable saignée de la population entre 1850 et 1900. Présent dans toutes les familles, le phénomène de l'émigration a également marqué la famille Lanners.

Le tableau ci-dessous résume la situation telle que l'auteur la connaît au printemps 2011. Si les données relatives aux pays européens sont assez bien fournies, il semble qu'on soit encore loin du compte aux Etats-Unis pour les descendants des émigrants de la famille Lanners, à en juger d'après le nombre d'entrées sur les nouveaux outils de recherche que sont la Toile ou plus récemment les réseaux sociaux tels Facebook.

L'émigration continue encore de nos jours, également dans la famille, sur une petite échelle et pour des motifs moins économiques que de carrière.

DestinationÉmigrantsDescendants
Belgique12781
France32771
Allemagne5813
Suisse318
États-Unis383833
Total :90 6216

Nota: Les chiffres pour les Etats-Unis comprennent 847 descendants de Lanners d'Allemagne qui ont émigré en Amérique.

Emigration de LANNERS du Luxembourg de 1780 à 2009

Emigration de LANNERS du Luxembourg de 1780 à 2009
Nota : Chiffres divergeant du tableau en raison de l’inclusion des enfants d’émigrants.

Le graphique ci-dessus illustre l’histoire de l’émigration de membres de la famille Lanners dans le temps et par destination. Il met en exergue l’importance du phénomène pendant la 2e moitié du 19e siècle et, pendant cette période, la préférence pour les Etats-Unis.

© Claude Lanners 2008 - 2012
Mise à jour le Mardi, 16 Août 2011 19:32