1909-2009 - 5 Generations

Logo Lanners-Threinen 1910        Lanners 2009

FrenchEnglishDeutsch

 

 

 


 


Message
  • EU e-Privacy Directive

    This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

PDF Print E-mail

Emigrants

The Vienna Congress, which rescheduled the political map of Europe after the French Revolution and the defeat of Napoleon, curtailed Luxembourg and left a miniscule country with a poor soil, bare of any natural resources until the development of the steel industry in the 1890ies. It is therefore not surprising that a substantial part of the population tried to improve its living condition by leaving its home country. France was a close and easily accessible host area, but it was the emigration towards the United States that took dramatic proportions in the years between 1850 and 1890. All families were touched, and so was the Lanners family.

The table below sums up the emigration status in Spring 2011 as the author could know it. Most of the European family members have apparently been found. This is not so for the United States according to the entries of the name found on the Net and on the social networks like Facebook.

Emigration is not a closed episode, but it continues on a smaller scale in a globalized world with increased mobility. Career opportunities might have replaced sheer economic need as a main motivation factor.

DestinationEmigrantsDescendants
Belgium12781
France32771
Germany5813
Switzerland318
United States383833
Total : 90
6216

Note: Numbers for the United States include 847 descendants of Lanners from Germany who emigrated to America.

Emigration of LANNERS from Luxembourg 1780 to 2009

Lanners emigration over time
Note : Numbers differ from the table above as children of emigrants are included in the graph.

The graph above illustrates the history of the emigration of members of the Lanners family in time and space. It highlights the peak of the emigration during the second half of the 19th century and the preferred destination, the United States of America.

© Claude Lanners 2008 - 2012
Last Updated on Tuesday, 16 August 2011 19:32

1909-2009 - 5 Generations

Logo Lanners-Threinen 1910        Lanners 2009

FrenchEnglishDeutsch

 

 

 


 


Nachricht
  • EU e-Privacy Directive

    This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

PDF Drucken E-Mail

Auswanderer

Der Wiener Kongress von 1815 reduzierte Luxemburg zu einem ärmlichen Kleinstaat mit nicht sehr fruchtbaren Böden, ohne nennenswerte verwertbare Naturschätze. Das änderte sich erst mit dem Entstehen der Stahlindustrie gegen 1890. Es ist deshalb nicht erstaunlich, dass ein grosser Teil der Bevölkerung das Land verliess in der Hoffnung auf eine Verbesserung seiner wirtschaftlichen Lage. Während Frankreich ein nahe liegendes und beliebtes Ziel war, dünnte die Auswanderung nach den Vereinigten Staaten die Bevölkerung zwischen 1850 und 1890 stark aus. Wie in allen Familien ist die Auswanderung auch in der Familie Lanners ein wichtiges Kapitel.

Die folgende Tabelle fasst den Informationsstand des Autors Mitte 2011 zusammen. Während über die europäischen Länder umfangreiche Angaben vorliegen, bleibt noch viel in Amerika zu forschen, wenn man das Internet oder die neuen sozialen Netzwerke wie Facebook auf den Namen Lanners absucht.

Die Auswanderung ist übrigens kein abgeschlossenes Kapitel, sondern sie geht in kleinem Massstab weiter, wenn auch die Karrieremöglichkeiten die wirtschaftliche Not als Antrieb weitgehend abgelöst haben.

ZielAuswandererNachkommen
Belgien12781
Frankreich32771
Deutschland5813
Schweiz318
Vereinigte Staaten383833
Total :906216

N.B.: Die Zahlen für die Vereinigten Staaten begreifen auch 847 Nackommen von Lanners aus der Eifel, die später nach Amerika ausgewandert sind.

Auswanderung von LANNERS aus Luxemburg von 1780 bis 2009

Auswanderung von LANNERS aus Luxemburg von 1780 bis 2009
Nota: Die Zahlen der Graphik weichen von denen der oben stehenden Tabelle ab da hier die Kinder von Auswanderern mit gezählt sind.

Diese Graphik veranschaulicht die Geschichte der Auswanderung von Mitgliedern der Familie Lanners aus Luxemburg in der Zeit und im Raum. Die Bedeutung der Wegzugs im der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts wird klar ersichtlich, genauso wie das beliebteste Auswanderungsziel, die Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika.

© Claude Lanners 2008 - 2012
Zuletzt aktualisiert am Dienstag, den 16. August 2011 um 19:32 Uhr