1909-2009 - 5 Generations

Logo Lanners-Threinen 1910        Lanners 2009

FrenchEnglishDeutsch

 

 

 


 


Message
  • EU e-Privacy Directive

    This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

PDF Print E-mail

The name LANNERS

First appearance

The Name LANNERS was first mentioned in a written source in the baptism record of John James (Jean Jacques) LANNERSCH March 30th, 1679 at Holzthum, 2 years after the register for baptisms, marriages and deaths had been started by pastor Brauners in 1677. As of 1686, the LANNERS spelling is first met at Holzthum, whereas it was already used in the sales deed of the Lanners Vogtey in Consthum in 1681. During the following decades, we still see LANDES in 1689 and LANNES between 1698 and 1733. From 1733 onward, only the LANNERS version is used in parish and in civil records. A curiosity has been found in the birth records of the 14th Arrondissement in Paris in 1899: Annette LANNERCE, daughter of Catherine who was registered as LANNERS at a birth 3 years earlier. Didn't the clerk have Catherine's papers in hand when francising her name? Some years earlier, in 1891, John L. LENNOUS was born in Tyrone, PA, an illegitimate son of John LANNERS, mason and offspring of a Lanners family from Hoscheid, Luxembourg. Other changes in spelling are likely: The ancestors of Dr. Thomas LANNERS, pianist and professor of piano at Oklahoma State University at Stillwater, OK, appear in the censuses of the early 1900s as LENNARS.

During this same 17th century names with a more or less similar spelling or sounding are known:

  • LANNEN at Kehlen and at Schwebach in1656
  • LANGEN at Beggen and at Dommeldange in 1611
  • LANGES at Beringen in 1653
  • LANGERS at Beggen and at Guirsch in 1656
  • LANSER at Echternach and at Ehnen in1656.

(ANL, Ed. Oster: Noms de famille aux 14e-17e siècles)

In the census of fireplaces (households) of 1656 organised by the Conseil Provincial, the civil authority in that time, in order to establish an overview of the population and its material condition after the devastations of the Thirty Years War (1618-1648), a LAMMERS Endress (Andrew), daylaborer, is mentioned. This might have been a misspelling of Lanners. He lives in a "Backhaus", which is a small structure with the oven to bake bread, his house having been confiscated (because of non reimbursed debts?) by the lord (from Schuttbourg?). He doesn't own a horse nor a cow and earns one "Malter" (about 150 Liters) of wheat.

(Edouard Oster, Das Feuerstättenverzeichnis des Jahres 1656, Lëtzeburger Bauere-Kalenner 1953-1981, neu herausgegeben von Alph. Wiltgen 2009 p.151)

A relation with people bearing more or less similar names in the center of the country can be excluded. This is not so however with the name LAMMERS in the parish seat Consthum, a few kilometers from Holzthum and just about 20 years before the birth of John James. Is this Lammers a parent of Klesgen, the father of John James, born probably by 1654? Are we ever going to know it? Endress Lammers was so poor that it is most unlikely that he was involved in any notary deed that could possibly be discovered one day.

In Luxembourg there is in 2011 one Lanners family which is not related to the Holzthum Lanners. It is Daniel Lanners who also lives in Cents and who is the owner of the lanners.lu domain name. The Lanners name of this family goes back to 1813 when the children of Petrus Langers who had moved from Hunsdorf to Kopstal were registered as Lanners.

The name LANNERS is however present in England. The 1901 census shows 26 LANNERS and marriages with Lanners partners are documented up to the present. The origin of the English LANNERS has still to be found out and the etymology of the English name is still to be researched, but we can admit until better evidence that there is no link with Luxembourg. English LANNERS are found on US immigrant lists and we have therefore to assume that among the numerous US LANNERS there are also many descendants of these English immigrants. The internet site Worldnames gives an idea on how the LANNERS are spread around the world. The list of passengers that entered through the port of New York from 1820 to 1957 shows about 140 LANNERS, of which 14 declared to be of British citizenship, 15 Belgian, 37 German and none Luxembourgish. The 31 LANNERS that according to the author’s information have emigrated to the US are to be found probably under the German label. This is by the way a citizenship they often indicated at immigration.

Meaning/Formation

The name Lanners does not appear in any French, Belgian or German onomastic reference book. This is not surprising, as the name, although being linguistically Germanic, is not very much present in Germany. Almost all bearers identified in that country can be traced back to the Holzthum roots. Indeed the surname mapping tools now available on the Net, such as Geogen, show the name only in areas of Germany where the author has identified more or less remote cousins.

So LANNERS is a truly Luxembourgish name, if we assume that the English bearers of the name are not related.

Trying to explain the formation of the name, Emile Erpelding proposes two answers:

  1. A derivation of the first name Leonard, which has given the family names LENERS and LENNERS. The change from the vowel "e" to "a" is however linguistically doubtful and has been excluded by Cristian Kollmann in a communication to the author 28.9.2011.
  2. As many town names have given family names, the village of LANNEN in the center of the country could be considered. A young man from Lannen could have married a woman in Holzthum, being called "the LANNER", (the one from Lannen), it being noted that the formation of family names was still going on in those years. This alternative cannot be excluded, but it is not very likely that a man from the center of the country should have settled in Holzthum, a miniscule hamlet with only 2 houses. On the other hand, a godfather from Schandel, a village as distant as Lannen, is documented in 1693.

    (BNL, Emil Erpelding : Die Kehrmühle bei Hoscheid, Sapeurs Pompiers Hoscheid 1987)

A third possibility is proposed by François Schroeder.
The lime tree is called in Luxembourgish "LANN". It is a very common and traditional tree in many Luxembourg villages, as it can be seen with the several hundred year old specimen in front of the Feulen parish church. If a "Lann" stood in front of the family home in Holzthum, the farm of Schuttbourg castle where the tenant might have changed from time to time, the inhabitants could have been called "those from the lime tree", in Luxembourgish "LANNESCH".

According to Cristian Kollmann, principal researcher involved in the project of establishing an atlas of family names at the University of Luxembourg, the lime tree (Linde in German) origin is to be favored for the origin of Lanners, due to the exclusively Luxembourgish specificity of the change of “i” to “a” during the evolution of the language. Thus the name of the the village of Lannen evolved from Linden via Lynden to Landen and Lannen. (Dénombrement de feux 1541 p.465). Whether the first Lanners in Holzthum has been an immigrant from Lannen or whether the name was formed locally from a characteristic lime tree “Lann” cannot be reconstituted as there are no sources available for the period before 1679.

© Claude Lanners 2008 - 2012
Last Updated on Monday, 27 February 2012 20:50

1909-2009 - 5 Generations

Logo Lanners-Threinen 1910        Lanners 2009

FrenchEnglishDeutsch

 

 

 


 


Message
  • EU e-Privacy Directive

    This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

PDF Imprimer Envoyer

Le nom LANNERS

Première apparition

Le nom LANNERS fait pour la première fois son apparition dans une source écrite dans l’acte de baptême de Jean Jacques LANNERSCH le 30 mars 1679 à Holzthum. A noter que le registre des baptêmes, mariages et décès/inhumations de la paroisse de Consthum n’a été commencé par le curé Brauners que deux ans plus tôt en 1677.

Dès 1686, la version LANNERS fait son apparition pour la première fois à Holzthum, alors qu’elle avait déjà été utilisée dans l’acte de cession de la Lanners Vogtey à Consthum en 1681. Au cours des décennies suivantes, on rencontre encore LANDES en 1689 et LANNES entre 1698 et 1733. A partir de 1733, seule la version LANNERS se trouve dans les registres, paroissiaux d'abord, d'état civil ensuite. Une curiosité a été découverte dans le registre des naissances de Paris 14e de 1899 : Annette LANNERCE, fille de Catherine qui s'appelait en fait LANNERS lors d'un accouchement trois ans plus tôt et qui fait bien partie de la famille. L'employé de la mairie n'avait-il pas sous les yeux les papiers de Catherine en francisant le nom ?

Quelques années plus tôt, en 1891, naissait à Tyrone en Pennsylvanie John L. LENNOUS, fils illégitime de John LANNERS, maçon et descendant d’une famille LANNERS de Hoscheid. D’autres anglicisations sont probables, peut-être aussi en sens inverse: Il paraît que les ancêtres du pianiste et professeur de piano Dr. Thomas LANNERS de l’Université de l’Oklahoma à Stillwater figurent dans les recensements du début du 20e siècle sous le nom LENNARS.

Au cours du même siècle, des noms à graphie ou à consonance plus ou moins rapprochées sont connus :

  • LANNEN à Kehlen et à Schwebach en 1656
  • LANGEN à Beggen et à Dommeldange en 1611
  • LANGES à Beringen en 1653
  • LANGERS à Beggen et à Guirsch en 1656
  • LANSER à Echternach et à Ehnen en 1656.

(ANL, Ed. Oster : Noms de famille aux 14e-17e siècles)

Dans le dénombrement des feux de 1656 organisé par le Conseil Provincial, l'autorité civile de l'époque, pour établir un état de la population et de sa situation matérielle après les ravages de la Guerre de Trente Ans (1618-1648), nous trouvons à Consthum LAMMERS Endress (André) qui est journalier. Il habite dans un « Backhaus », c’est-à-dire dans une pièce avec four dans lequel on cuit le pain, sa maison et ses biens ont été confisqués (en raison de dettes non remboursées?) par le seigneur (de Schuttbourg ?). Il ne possède ni cheval ni vache et gagne avec des travaux de défrichement 1 « Malter » (environ 150 l) de blé.

(Edouard Oster, Das Feuerstättenverzeichnis des Jahres 1656, Lëtzeburger
Bauere-Kalenner 1953-1981, neu herausgegeben von Alph. Wiltgen 2009, S. 151)

Si un lien de famille avec les porteurs de noms plus ou moins similaires dans le centre du pays peut être écarté d’emblée, la présence du nom LAMMERS dans le siège de la paroisse, Consthum, à quelques kilomètres de Holzthum, tout juste une vingtaine d’années avant la naissance de Jean Jacques, doit être relevée. S’agit-il d’un parent de Kleschen, le père de Jean Jacques, qui est probablement né vers 1654 ? Le saurons-nous jamais ? L’état de précarité d’Endress Lammers réduit les chances qu’il ait été partie prenante dans un acte notarié qui pourrait être découvert un jour.

A la connaissance de l’auteur, il y a aujourd’hui au Luxembourg une seule famille Lanners qui n’est pas apparentée aux Lanners de Holzthum. Il s’agit de Daniel Lanners qui habite également à Cents, Boulevard Simonis. Le nom Lanners est apparu à partir de 1813 lorsque les enfants de Petrus Langers de Hunsdorf qui s’était établi à Kopstal ont été enregistrés sous Lanners. C’est cette famille qui est propriétaire du nom de domaine lanners.lu

On trouve cependant des LANNERS en Angleterre. Le recensement de la population de 1901 fait état de 26 porteurs du nom et des mariages avec des partenaires LANNERS sont documentés jusqu’à nos jours. Une recherche sur l’origine des LANNERS d’Angleterre et de l’étymologie du nom anglais reste à faire, mais jusqu’à preuve du contraire on peut admettre qu’il n’y a pas de lien avec le Luxembourg. Des LANNERS d’Angleterre sont répertoriés dans les listes d’immigrants aux Etats-Unis, et il faut donc se rendre compte que parmi les LANNERS des Etats-Unis il y a également des descendants de ces immigrants anglais. Le portail Worldnames donne une idée de la répartition géographique des porteurs du nom. La liste des passagers qui sont entrés par le port de New York entre 1820 et 1957 comporte quelques 140 LANNERS, dont 14 ont déclaré être de nationalité britannique, 15 belge, 37 allemande et aucun luxembourgeoise. Les quelque 31 LANNERS luxembourgeois qui ont émigré aux Etats-Unis figurent sans doute sous étiquette allemande, nationalité qu’ils ont d’ailleurs bien souvent donné aux autorités d’immigration.

Signification/Genèse

Le nom LANNERS n’est pas cité dans les ouvrages de référence onomastiques allemands, belges ou français. Ce qui n’est pas étonnant vu que le nom, bien qu’étant germanique, n’est que très peu représenté en Allemagne et que pratiquement tous les porteurs répertoriés dans ce pays sont des descendants de la souche de Holzthum. En effet, les cartes donnant la répartition géographique des noms de famille, disponibles à présent sur la Toile (p.ex. Geogen), ne font apparaître le nom que dans des régions allemandes où l’auteur a lui-même localisé des cousins plus ou moins lointains.

Nous sommes donc en présence d’un nom bien luxembourgeois, si nous faisons abstraction de la présence en Angleterre.

Pour expliquer la genèse du nom, Emile Erpelding suggère deux pistes :

  1. Une dérivation du prénom Léonard, qui a fourni les patronymes LENERS et LENNERS : Cette hypothèse est peu probable du point de vue linguistique, puisqu’elle présuppose une transformation de la voyelle « e » en « a ». Elle est exclue carrément par Cristian Kollmann dans une communication à l’auteur le 28.9.2011.
  2. Etant donné que la plupart des noms de localités ont généré des noms de famille, le village de LANNEN dans le canton de Redange vient à l’esprit. Un jeune homme de Lannen qui aurait épousé une jeune fille de Holzthum aurait-il été appelé « de LANNER » (celui de Lannen) à une époque où les noms de famille étaient encore en formation ? Bien que cette hypothèse ne puisse être exclue, il est quand-même fort improbable qu’un jeune homme du centre du pays se soit fixé précisément à Holzthum, un minuscule hameau perdu dans l’Oesling qui ne comptait plus que 2 feux en 1656. D'un autre côté, un parrain de Schandel est documenté dès 1693 à Holzthum.

    (BNL, Emil Erpelding : Die Kehrmühle bei Hoscheid, Sapeurs Pompiers Hoscheid 1987)

Une troisième piste est proposée par François Schroeder. Le tilleul (Linde en allemand) est dit en luxembourgeois « eng LANN ». C’est un arbre traditionnel des villages luxembourgeois, comme en témoignent les beaux spécimens séculaires devant l’église paroissiale de Feulen. Il se peut qu’une « LANN » se trouvait devant la maison de la famille, la ferme du château de Schuttbourg qui changeaient parfois de locataire, et que ses habitants ont été appelés « ceux du tilleul », « LANNESCH ».

D’après Cristian Kollmann, cheville ouvrière du projet d’atlas des noms de famille luxembourgeois à l’Université du Luxembourg, l’origine du tilleul (Linde en allemand) pour le nom Lanners semble se confirmer du fait d’une particularité purement luxembourgeoise de mutation du i en a au fil de l’évolution de la langue. Ainsi le nom de la localité de Lannen s’est développé de Linden par Lynden et Landen (Dénombrement de feux 1541 p.465). Que le premier Lanners de Holzthum ait été un immigrant de Lannen ou que le nom se soit formé sur place à partir d’une « Lann » caractéristique ne peut plus être reconstitué faute de sources.

© Claude Lanners 2008 - 2012
Mise à jour le Lundi, 27 Février 2012 20:50